Back to prior page            Go to next page

The Golden Boot Awards
1983 - 2007

Special thanks to:  the Motion Picture and Television Fund Foundation for providing the full listing of honorees and photos; Andy Southard, who attended many of the 1980s Award programs and provided information and remembrances about these award ceremonies; and Andy Southard and the late Ancel Cook for many photos on these Golden Boot award webpages.

In the early 1980s, veteran movie sidekick Pat Buttram conceived the Golden Boot Award as a way to recognize the achievements of cowboy film heroes and heroines, as well as writers, directors, stunt people, and character actors who had significant involvement in the film and TV western.

As president of the Masquers, Buttram gave a dinner honoring Bob Steele and presented him with a belt buckle with a Golden Boot on it.

In 1983, the Golden Boot award was presented to various western film folks, including Steele.

The last Golden Boot Awards program occurred in 2007 and was the 25th anniversary of the awards program.

Proceeds from the Golden Boot Awards benefit the health and human services, retirement and child care programs of the Motion Picture and Television Fund in Woodland Hills, California.

The Motion Picture and Television Fund website is at:

The Golden Boot Awards website at the Motion Picture and Television Fund was no longer working when I checked in early 2024:
The Internet Archive has a saved version of the website at:

Information on the Masquers is at:

For several years, Nina Dilbeck created much of the multi-media and graphics used at the annual Golden Boot award programs. Nina's website was no longer working when I checked in early 2024:

YouTube has videos from many Golden Boot Award events:

(Courtesy of Andy Southard)

Above - Pat Buttram emceeing at the 1988 Awards.

(Courtesy of Andy Southard)

Above is the Golden Boot Award which was presented to singin' cowboy Fred Scott in 1988.

Golden Boot Award Honorees
Rex Allen
Dick Alexander
Gene Autry
Bruce Boxleitner
Sunset Carson
Eddie Dean
Jack Elam
Dale Evans
Monte Hale
Ben Johnson
Lash LaRue
Nat Levine
Doug McClure
Lee Majors
Clayton Moore
Slim Pickens
Roy Rogers
Charles Starrett
Bob Steele
Linda Stirling
Forrest Tucker
Lee Van Cleef
Al Wyatt
Will Rogers *

Robert Blake
Red Buttons
Pat Buttram
Yakima Canutt
John Carradine
Iron Eyes Cody
Chuck Connors
Buddy Ebsen
Jennifer Holt
Michael Landon
Sam Peckinpah
Denver Pyle
Ella Raines
Jane Russell
Peggy Stewart
Dennis Weaver
Marie Windsor
Buck Jones *

Amanda Blake
Ernest Borgnine
Burt Kennedy
Ricardo Montalban
Dale Robertson
James Stewart
Dub Taylor
Robert Wilkie
Joe Yrigoyen
Audie Murphy

James Arness
Carl Cotner
Burl Ives
Louis L'Amour
Fred MacMurray
Guy Madison
Jock Mahoney
George Montgomery
Fess Parker
Glenn Randall
Cesar Romero
Tex Ritter *

Gene Barry
Harry Carey, Jr.
Andre de Toth
Richard Farnsworth
Rhonda Fleming
Glenn Ford
Robert Livingston
Joel McCrea
Debra Paget
John Russell
Woody Strode
Tom Mix *

Gene Evans
Stuart Hamblen
Virginia Mayo
Willie Nelson
Ann Rutherford
Fred Scott
George Sherman
Morgan Woodward
William S. Hart *
Andy Devine *

Johnny Cash
Ellen Corby
Angie Dickinson
Robert Duvall
Robert Fuller
John Ireland
Dick Jones
Paul Malvern
Casey Tibbs

Noah Beery, Jr.
Budd Boeticher
Sam Elliot
George Kennedy
Hal Needham
Burt Reynolds
Katharine Ross
Jay Silverheels *

John Agar
Polly Burson
Anthony Caruso
Alice Faye
Bob Hope
Brian Keith
Andrew V. McLaglen
Hugh O'Brian
Maureen O'Hara
Harry Carey, Sr. *

Rand Brooks
Arthur Gardner
Richard Jaeckel
Katy Jurado
Arnold Laven
Jules Levy
Pierce Lyden
A. C. Lyles
Ann Miller
Montie Montana
President Ronald Reagan
Tom Selleck
Alice Sprinsteen
John Sturges
Henry Wills
Sheb Wooley
Tim Holt *

Chuck Courtney
Clint Eastwood
Jane Fonda
Jack Palance
Buck Taylor
Ted Turner
William Boyd *

Paul Brinegar
Bill Catching
James Coburn
Gail Davis
Joanne Dru
Walter Hill
Robert Mitchum
Pat Buttram *
James Drury
Andrew J. Fenady
Bo Hopkins
Bob Morgan
Jane Seymour
Claire Trevor
Burt Lancaster *
Founder's Award: Gene Autry

Carroll Baker
Lloyd Bridges
Charles Bronson
Bill Campbell
Joe Canutt
Herb Jeffries
John Wayne *
Founder's Award: Roy Rogers

Leo Gordon
Charles 'Chuck' Hayward
Anne Jeffreys
Karl Malden
Robert Urich
Clint Walker
Randolph Scott *
Founder's Award: John Ford

Adrian Booth Brian
David Carradine
Keith Carradine
Robert Carradine
Frankie Laine
John Mantley
Founder's Award: Clayton Moore
Harry Morgan
Dean Smith
Barbara Stanwyck *
Patrick Wayne

Julie Adams
R. G. Armstrong
David Dortort
Kirk Douglas
James Garner
Jack Williams
DeForest Kelley *
Founder's Award: Mary Pickford Foundation and Charles 'Buddy' Rogers

Tom Berenger
Melissa Gilbert
Donna Hall
L. Q. Jones
Howard Koch
Robert Stack
Founder's Award: Dale Evans
Backbone of the B's Award:
Gregg Barton
Myron Healey
Walter Reed
House Peters, Jr.

Eli Wallach
Barbara Hale
Alex Cord
Andrew Prine
Loren Janes
Chuck Norris
Centennial Award: To John Clark Gable on behalf of his father, Clark Gable

Bruce Dern
Peter Fonda
David Huddleston
Whitey Hughes
Ruta Lee
Stuart Whitman
Ron Soble
Peter Brown
Will Hutchins
Robert Colbert
Roy Huggins
William T. Orr
William 'Bill' Witney
Earl Bellamy
Ted Post
Donna Martell
Marion Shilling
Ruth Terry
Gloria Winters
Marsha Hunt
Honorary Golden Boot: Colt Manufacturing Company

Tommy Lee Jones
Chris Alcaide
Graham Greene
Tommy Farrell
Terry Leonard
Sue Ane Langdon
Kris Kristofferson
Michael Dante
Kelo Henderson
William Smith
Charles Champlin
Sons Of The Pioneers

Val Kilmer
Scott Glenn
Randy Quaid
Robert Horton
Pat Hingle
Rob Word
Johnny Mack Brown *
Gale Storm
Noel Neill
Lois Hall
Elaine Riley
Golden Voice of Radio award: Fred Foy

James Caan
Debbie Reynolds
Wilford Brimley
Stuntwoman Martha Crawford Cantarini
Mark Harmon
Phil Spangenberger
Ben Cooper
Encore Westerns Channel
Founder's Award: Jim Rogers
Kids of the West Award:
Gary Gray
Mickey Kuhn
Michael Chapin
Eilene Janssen
Johnny Crawford
Lee Aaker

Powers Boothe
Wes Studi
Joan Leslie
Director Les Martinson
Stunt Coordinator Buddy Van Horn
Special tribute: George "Gabby" Hayes
Founder's Award: Clint Eastwood

Caruth C. Byrd
Lee Horsley
Martin Kove
Stuntman Walt LaRue
Viggo Mortensen
Eva Marie Saint
Champion Award: Jackie (Mrs. Gene) Autry
Founder's Award: John Wayne

2007 was the last Golden Boot awards program
* In Memorial Award

Who didn't get a Golden Boot award?
There were many B western performers who weren't given the award. Included in the non-award list are: Buster Crabbe, Hoot Gibson, Tim McCoy, Don Barry, Dave Sharpe, Russell Hayden, James Ellison, Jimmy Wakely, Duncan Renaldo, Ray Whitley, and Tom Tyler.

Back to prior page            Go to next page